About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Norfolk State's Robert Jones is the recipient of the 2019 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award.

April 5, 2019


MINNEAPOLIS, MN -- Norfolk State coach Robert Jones is the 2018-19 recipient of the Skip Prosser Man of the Year award.

Jones guided the Spartans to a 22-14 record and the MEAC regular season title this season. Norfolk State’s 14-2 conference record was the program’s best since 2012-13 and marked the sixth consecutive season with at least 11 conference victories.

The Spartans have a 109-96 record during Jones’ six seasons at the helm. Norfolk State, which lost to N.C. Central in the MEAC tournament title game, also throttled a top 80 East Tennessee squad 89-61 on Dec. 22nd.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well.

Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach at Loyola, Xavier and Wake Forest.


Casey Alexander, Lipscomb
Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Rick Byrd, Belmont
Johnny Dawkins, UCF
Fran Dunphy, Temple
Steve Forbes, ETSU
Joe Golding, Abilene Christian
Earl Grant, Charleston
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State
Michael Huger, Bowling Green
Donte' Jackson, Grambling
James Jones, Yale
Mike Jones, Radford
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T
Danny Kaspar, Texas State
Rob Krimmel, Saint Francis PA
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Ryan Odom, UMBC
Matt Painer, Purdue
Doc Sadler, Southern Miss
Bruce Weber, Kansas State
Mike Young, Wofford

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade

2019-20 College basketball preview: Preseason picks, ranking & Predictions

Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019